The Staves

I’ve heard that sisters create the best harmonies and The Staves are validation to this theory. Music that burns slow but hits hard. I still remember the first time I heard them. It was a Mahogany Sessions video and they were performing their track “Facing West.” It was one ukulele, one guitar, and three angelic voices melting together in harmonious bliss. The next track I heard was “Mexico” and then their entire 2012 debut album Dead & Born & Grown. I haven’t stopped listening to them and they haven’t disappointed me once. I’m still holding out for my three sisters to give in and form a band with me Brady Bunch Style.

I was thrilled to see them featured on the documentary film Austin to Boston which also includes other favorites Ben Howard, Bear’s Den, and Nathaniel Rateliff. I’ll have to write something about those guys later, but for now, girl power all the way.

I promise you’ll never hear anything sweeter than these three folk goddesses. If you aren’t satisfied, I’ll give you your money back.

 

 

Leave a Reply

