Ear Gear

First of all, I think I speak for everyone when I say that the term “Ear Gear” is hilarious. I’m probably not the first person to coin this term but if I had to guess, all my money is on Tom from Parks & Recreation.

By the way, Ear Gear = Headphones. Keep up, kids.

Before buying anything, I go to A LOT of trouble researching and re-researching, and headphones were no exception to this rule. Plus, the fact that I use them at least 5/7 days per week granted me permission to upgrade from the “free” pair included with my iWhatever.

Sidenote: How is it possible that after all these years and various designs, those earbuds STILL don’t fit in ears properly (“Sorry we can’t hear you over this pile of money and the nicer noise canceling headphones we all use”- Probably Apple)? Regardless, if you’re buying one of their products just for the earbuds, who are you and where is your legal guardian?

So what headphones did I end up buying?

ATH-M50x

They come with 3 different cable options, comfortable “over the ear” pads and AMAZING sound quality. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve re-visited albums and heard instrumental details that were previously inaudible due to the aforementioned iBuds. From a workplace standpoint, they are also great at noise canceling your co-worker who is constantly screaming (Seriously, bro, why u yelling?).

I noticed that these headphones are frequently discounted on Amazon so I patiently waited until they were 40% off and snatched them up. I’ve had them for about 3 months now and, in my opinion, no other headphones matter. Obviously I can’t comment on how they’ve held up over time but I plan to provide an update if/when they give out. If you are interested in saving even more money, check out the ATH-M50 model as it is IDENTICAL in design and quality to the 50x; however, they don’t come with the different cable options thereby making them a little less expensive.

Sorry Dr. Dre, not every song has that much bass.

-JH

Leave a Reply

